Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crises (EMAC)


3 day/s


Morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea provided.


On completion


Everyone $2,700.00 +GST


Download PDF


EMAC provides training in the management of anaesthetic emergencies. It consists of five modules run over two and a half days covering the following topics:

- human factors

- airway management

- cardiovascular emergencies

- anaesthetic emergencies

- trauma management

The course is a requirement of the ANZCA training program and may be undertaken at any time after the completion of introductory training. Due to the focus on crisis management, trainees who have completed at least 12 - 18 months of anaesthesia training are most likely to benefit from participation in the course. It is strongly recommended that trainees attend the EMAC course prior to commencing provisional fellowship training. ANZCA trainees should note, however, that they will not be provided with opportunities to complete workplace-based assessments during the course.

A current CV MUST be supplied with your application to attend.

Who should participate

Anaesthetists and Anaesthetic Trainees who have completed both their primary exam and have 12 - 18 months of anaesthetic training. Also suitable for trainees post introductory training, and JCCA Trainees and GP Anaesthetists.


Participants must have completed the Initial Assessment of Anaesthetic Competence through ANZCA. Other participants may apply for the Anaesthetic Crisis Resource Management course.


Neat casual clothing and enclosed footwear.


Menu choices will comply with QLD Health Healthy Choices Strategy. Special dietary requirements will be catered for with prior notice.

NSQHS Standards

S1: Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations
S2: Partnering with Consumers
S3: Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections
S4: Medication Safety
S5: Patient Identification and Procedure Matching
S6: Clinical Handover
S7: Blood and Blood Products
S8: Preventing and Managing Pressure Injuries
S9: Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care
S10: Preventing Falls and Harm from Falls

What are these standards?